+44 (0)7983 887775

About Radio Summerhall


Radio Summerhall is a not-for-profit, online radio station run by passionate volunteers. It was founded by Nick Mortimore, Oscar Scott-Askin and Emma Mortimore who share a love of good music, the arts, spoken word and the great year-round Edinburgh arts hub, Summerhall.

Nick and Oscar have very different music tastes, but usually agree in the Reggae Basement the regular show they present together.

Oscar’s other main musical loves now are all things jazz and global which he combines in his show, Back at the Control Tower.

Slightly more populist than Oscar, Nick’s All Shook Up show encompasses many genres from gospel to hip hop, stopping at all stations in between but rarely playing anything from this century.

We’re delighted to have been joined by new presenters in recent months.

Steve Ellis shares his vast knowledge of post-punk in his monthly show Caledonia Uber Ellis (and sneaks in some punk and indie too).  He also co-presents Wild Mood Swings, a monthly show with a different theme each time dictating what gets played, with Nick.

Markus Helbig has been busy recording interviews during the Fringe since joining us in August 2015 and will be hosting his own regular spoken word show(s) very soon.

Jim Welsh covers the globe in bringing you the very best in folk and world music in his weekly show Music Routes.

Ewan Allinson brings the beats with his regular forays into hip-hop and way beyond under the banner of As The Crow Flies..

Craig Gornall and Ian Schofield showcase the very best in emerging Scottish talent in the weekly Summerhall Live.

Merran Winchester brought the first regular spoken word show to the station, with Word, Sound & Power recorded at the Blind Poetics open mic nights.

Contact presenters about their shows:

Reggae Basement/Back At The Control Tower
Email: oscar@radiosummerhall.com

Reggae Basement/All Shook Up/Wild Mood Swings/My Generation
Email: nick@radiosummerhall.com

Caledonia Uber Ellis/Wild Mood Swings
Email: steve@radiosummerhall.com

Music Routes
Email: jim@radiosummerhall.com

Summerhall Live
Email: craig@radiosummerhall.com

Email: ian@radiosummerhall.com

Spoken Word show TBC
Email: markus@radiosummerhall.com

General Enquiries
Email: nick@radiosummerhall.com